Mental golf with Shirley

Well, maybe it’s time to note my golf progress. Haphazard, is all I can say!

While I have been going to my nice ladies group lessons most every Thursday morning and playing the 3 par afterwards that has not been enough. I need to get out on the 18 holes and get the practice under my belt.  The others are doing this, they have their handicap cards, they are playing 2 and 3 times a week. To put it simply they are progressing and I am not. In fact I am still hitting lots of stupid shots, over analysing my swing and rushing into it in my normal get on and do it fashion.  How silly is that? But, I havent been able to stop it, which is worse for me, a hypnotherapist.

Golf has not been my priority this year, however, I am quite competitive and don’t like to be left behind. To sort this out  I have teamed up with another hypnotherapist, Shirley, who is much the same as me. We are going to help each other with our mental golf game and are including rounds of golf with no mental pressure at all. And I am talking no pressure, no worries about who is behind, in front, watching, criticising, or even thinking about talking to us. A calm game of focused golf is what we have in mind!

For our first basic exercise was one to stimulate positive thinking with our fantastic tapping technique EFT.  We started it on Monday and today, Thursday, I played so much better.

‘Even though I am stilll rubbish after all this time, I am open to change’

‘I now choose to hit the ball well and enjoy my golf”

‘I can can hit the ball straight and accurate, straight and accurate is good’

If you are a tapper and a golfer then follow along.  If you are a golfer but haven’t learned tapping,  it is time you did.  (I do phone and skype sessions for this)

Watch this space.

2 Responses to Mental golf with Shirley

  1. Shirley Webb says:

    Hi,

    I’m the Shirley, Marilyn is talking about. We had a lot of fun doing our golf tapping and then playing the par 3 course. Since starting working on the mental side of my golf with Marilyn (much easier having someone else working with you than doing it on your own) I have enjoyed the game much more and I can see the improvements I am making every week! I played in a medal last week with a very experienced golfer, and she hasn’t played with me since last summer. She was amazed at my progress and told me that I am now a real golfer. Praise indeed. Looking forward to more mental and physical golf with Marilyn.

  2. Marilyn says:

    Thanks, Shirley, for the comment.
    I took note from you and am now using that lovely deep calming breath to focus in and feel my body relax before I swing my club.
    Looking forward to our next game.

Leave a Reply

